Some Jesus in 10 years

Posted on julho 4, 2010

0


Robert Anton Wilson

by
Alexandre Petillo*

I’m an old-fashioned guy. I open the screen in Word and choose the font “Verdana” to write. It’s an old habit, I think I carry a few years ago. I remember that early in his career, had a meeting with a wise friend and he told me it was fad to write in “Verdana”, because he had “a face of modernity.” I thought cool, and today only write with this source. Modern superstition, don’t judge me.

Beats a miss this time. It was great being able to communicate instantly with others through a small program called ICQ . Seems like just yesterday I was with a friend at Porto Alegre, chill out, curing a hangover, there by noon when we began to hear the legendary program “Cafezinho” (damn, I forgot the name of the radio, the program still exists), that is hilarious . In the program, the guys commenting on the beginning of ICQ and wondered about the name. I C Q . I seek you. I want you. Wow, what a name well built, I thought at the time. Does anyone still remember ICQ? Someone still uses ICQ?

Porto Alegre, Brazil. I love this city. It is there that left a bunch of crazy that was a kind of culture fanzine that arrived in the box e-mails of a hundreds brazilians. It was a huge message. The email brought tales, stories, interviews, experiments, madness. This is the “Cardoso online”. I expected every Tuesdays and Thursdays, crazy, obsessed, by the arrival of the edition of COL. And he read, everything. Texts huge. If it were print, gave some 50 pages, below. And every day, the number of subscribers of Col increased only . I was pleased to write to some figures – I keep, print, folder, good memories. The cool thing is that looking at today, many good people doing good stuff in Brazil writes on col. Cardoso himself, Clarah Averbuck, Daniel Galera, Daniel Pellizzari, all staff of “Livros do Mal”. And today, there is a cd like MTV Bandas Gauchas ( bands from Porto Alegre), is because these bands knew Brazil through accurate reports of COL.

If nothing else, I was also addicted to such a Digestivo Cultural, which was done in São Paulo brought criticism and acidic, well-built body. Today is the big point of the culture of the Brazilian Internet, no doubt. And the acid criticism, thank God, continue.

Is that remote epoch also another crazy journalist named Alexandre Matias, who was an online version of their pages of “Trabalho Sujo”. Then did the 1999, a site whose motto was “it would be updated every blessed day.” Crazy. Finding a site with new texts every single day is something crazy. “These guys must work horrors,” I thought. It is discovered that boiling scribes and big people too thin, elegant and heartfelt, like Fabio Bianchini and Cecilia Gianetti.
I remember I read a text from Matias (huge for a change) about a band that, according to the activist said, mixed with dashes of country soul. At the time the dollar was worth a real (Brazilian money) . I could buy the imported disk, if I lived in the big city. But I didn’t live. So a friend told me about a program called Napster. In my humble dial-up (which was nice, after my friend Carlinhos Falcatrua discovered a provider that accepts collect calls), so I downloaded the Napster. In the wonderful average of two songs per night, so I downloaded the disk (Nixon) of this band (Lambchop) that mixed country with soul. Nor was all this, but gave way to dive into a sea of rarities and other sounds, beats and pulses. Anyone out there remember Napster? Someone came to use Napster? I am getting old …

Carried away by the amount of information and mazes, a friend, he only made one site. Only he knew how to build a website. Invited a bunch of cronies to write. I talked about movies – did not know and still know little, but gave few pitacos funny. As only he could move the thing, had biweekly updates. And he pierced the early morning updating.

I remember I was at that time, a bunch of friends, who suggested that a light would be nice to make a website with just photos of people in nightclubs, on records. This friend a webmaster, said it was nonsense. “Who will go online to browse the photo itself?”. Nobody. So we opened a briefcase on Yahoo (remember that? Still exists), where he offered to archive our photos and he wanted to, went there and saved. Genial.

Instant communication. Cultural revolutions per email. Exchange of music online. Virtual file photo. Chat rooms. And that was just the beginning. Later still came streaming video. Internet phone. Blogs. Fotologs. Google. Orkut. That, in only ten years.

This conversation reminds me of a madman that wise old Matias wrote about in his site. It is the philosopher Robert Wilson. He left with the theory of Jesus Jumper. Basically, Wilson conceptualizes the “Jesus” of his theory as a unit of knowledge of scientific facts known to humanity in the year that Jesus Christ was born. Wilson accounts for the accumulation of science in the following centuries and sets the year 1500 as the point at which mankind has doubled its knowledge about the starting date – two Jesus.

The next time a doubling of new knowledge occurs: 250 years later, just before the French Revolution. Then another 150 years and humanity has, through the Industrial Revolution, eight Jesus. Then follows the pattern: Jesus in August 1900, 16 in 1950 Jesus, Jesus 32 in 1960, 128 Jesus in 1973, 512 in 1982. I’m bad at math, but this last decade of the commercial Internet, it is a few hundred of Jesus. Or not.

No matter. Undefined concepts are held in Century XXI. What excites is that all this is only the beginning. Probably Jesus born every Day.

* ALEXANDRE Petillo is a journalist. In fact, I would be Casagrande ( a famous soccer player), but ended in journalism at the legendary “Notícias Populares”. Today I’m a coordinator of TV shows at the Vanguarda Network, an affiliate Globo the biggest channel of Brazil.

Posted in: Uncategorized